Banoffee Pie

Banoffee Pie Recipe

Hello my lovely readers,

First of all thanks a lot for reading this! This is my first post ever on Sugar ‘n’ Spice by Radhika and I’m so thrilled about it! I really hope you’ll love my recipes, I’ll try to keep ‘em easy, tasty and GLAM! 

Quick confession: I do not have a big thing for desserts! I LOVE making them but can’t enjoy eating more than 1 serving! I know its normally the other way round for people, but who said I was normal :p Anyway, I do not as much enjoy desserts but this banoffee pie was to DIE FOR! Mainly because it was so easy to make..The crispy biscuit base, topped with chewy caramel goodness, loaded with fresh bananas and finished off with lightly whipped cream and grated chocolate! HEAVENLY!

EASY BANOFFEE PIE

Look at that melting caramel! ❤

I never thought good things could be yummy and cheap as chips at the same time! So if you’re looking for a dessert that you will cherish for a long long time to come then you have got to try this one out. The original recipe was for 12 people so I halved it to better fit my appetite and my 8 inch dish. You can find the original recipe here.

Ingredients:

For the Base:

40 gms of Butter

100 gms Digestive Biscuits (I used the good ol McVities Digestive biscuits)

For the Caramel:

200 gms of Condensed Milk

50 gms Butter

50 gms Brown Sugar

For the Top and Garnish:

3-4 Bananas sliced length-wise

100 gms whipping cream

Grated Dark Chocolate for garnish

To serve, I used an 8 cm dish. You can also use a loose-bottomed pan to have a free standing pie.

Process:

Step 1: Grind the biscuits in a food processor or crush them very finely with your hands using something heavy like a pestle and mortar. Melt the butter in a microwave and add it to the crushed biscuits. Transfer this mixture to your serving dish and spoon the mixture onto the base. Cover the dish to make a pie shell. Refrigerate it for 15 minutes.

Step 2: The tricky bit: The only thing you have to do in this recipe, is make caramel. Rest of it will take care of itself. So, in a non stick heavy bottomed pan, melt the butter and sugar on low heat. Once the sugar has dissolved completely (which will take a little while), add the condensed milk. Bring the mixture to a roaring boil and cook it for a minute. Remember to stir throughout. The end result will be a beautiful golden thick caramel. Toss the this caramel over the chilled biscuit base and refrigerate for an hour.

Step 3: The fun part. On top of chilled caramel add a good double layer of sliced bananas. Top it with slightly whipped cream (the cream has to form soft peaks). Garnish it with good quality dark chocolate and Voila! you’re a pro dessert maker.

sugar n spice by radhika

You can make your versions of this Banoffee pie. Follow the same recipe but serve it small ramekins, one for each guest, Each one , Eat one! You could also make the base in a tart shell which will up the GLAM quotient!

I hope you have fun making and eating this Banoffee Pie. Let me know how it turned out by commenting on this post and if you have any queries or complaints, please write back. :)

HAPPY COOKING!

Love,

Radhika xx

7 thoughts on “Banoffee Pie

  1. Pingback: Fudgy Chocolate Bars ! | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  2. Pingback: Chocolate and Orange Marble Cake | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  3. Pingback: Crunchy Caramel Popcorn |

  4. Hey radhika! I m from guwahati and a big,bigg fan of your blog.i follow you on instagram too 😀 😀 since i live in guwahati,getting whipped cream in the market is really difficult. Can u please tell me how can i make at home??

    • Hi Devangana!
      Thank you so much for writing to me! Unfortunately there’s no way you can make it home (none that I know off) your best bet would be to go your local bakery and get some off them. I’m pretty sure they can help! 🙂
      Hope I’ve answered your query !
      Thank you for the love! 🙂

Leave a Reply

