Super Moist Orange Cake

Hello my lovely readers,

I saw Rachel Allen baking an Orange cake on her TV show and I couldn’t stop wondering how it would turn out if I made it the same way I made my lemon cake. So I stopped wondering and started doing! I used my tried and tested recipe and substituted lemons with oranges, I did put more orange juice because I thought it enhanced the flavor (Rachel Allen didn’t use orange juice :p) My recipe proved itself again and cake turned out exactly how I had envisioned it, SUPER DUPER MOIST! I loved how this orange cake was zesty but not tangy, perfectly sweet and the scent of the orange zest was to die for! If you’re looking for something to remind you summers in this chilling winter then try this and you won’t be disappointed. This cake is like a ray of sunshine on sad gloomy day!

orange cake

Ingredients:

250 gms Flour

125 gms Light Brown Sugar

125 gms Softened Butter

1 tsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Vanilla Essence

2 Large Eggs

Zest of 1 Orange

2 tbsp Orange Juice

100 ml Milk

VEGETARIANS: Use about 1/2 cup pureed banana instead of the eggs.

You will also need a 22 cm loaf tin, butter for greasing your tin and butter paper to line your tin.

orange cake sugar n spice by radhika

Process:

We’re baking THE most awesome orange cake and for that you need to follow these steps.

Image

Preheat oven at 180 degrees Celsius.

Step 1: In a large bowl, add the sugar to the butter.

Step 2: Whisk until both are combined and the mixture looks light and fluffy (kind of like in picture 2 above).

Step 3: In a separate bowl, sieve the flour and baking powder. In a jar, pour the milk and whisk the eggs in it. Now add both these mixtures to the butter mixture you made in step 2, little by little, until it form a batter.

Step 4: Add in the orange zest.

Step 5: Add in the vanilla essence.

Step 6: Add in orange juice.

Step 7: Transfer to a greased tin and bake for 27 minutes at 160 degrees or until the cake is golden on top and the skewer comes out clean.

P.s I say that because every oven is different, my oven sometimes takes longer than what the recipe demands, for example my Christmas special chocolate chip cookies. I say keep peaking into your oven, DO NOT OPEN THE OVEN DOOR, just peak. When you think the cake is done, take it out for a skewer test.

This cake is done when its a little golden on the top. Don’t wait for it to brown.

This recipe will yield a 20-22 cm loaf, serves 6-8 people. In my house, 10-15! :D We like to share!

orange cake and tea

sugar n spice by radhika

Wrap in a butter paper and foil to keep the moisture intact!

Happy Baking!!!

Much Love,

Radhika xx

12 thoughts on “Super Moist Orange Cake

  1. Pingback: Kitty´s orange cake | TorontoCooks

  2. Pingback: Fudgy Chocolate Bars ! | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  3. Pingback: Chocolate and Orange Marble Cake | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  4. Pingback: 6 Minute Eggless Vanilla Sponge Cake | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  5. Pingback: Eggless Lemon Drizzle Cake | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  6. Hi Radhika, this looks lovely. I want to bake it for my brother, he’s a huge fan of anything orange. I want to decorate the cake too. What quantity of ingredients do I need for a 10 inch cake please?

      • Hi

        Thanks for the quick response, I’m baking this morning 😀 it’s about 2 inches deep. If you could tell me how much flour I need, I’ll work out the rest 😉

  7. Hi Radhika

    I am gonna try the super moist orange cake today. Do i use two tsp of fresh orange juice or the one that is packed like Real orange juice?

    • Hi Sara! I feel so bad that I missed your comment, well here is your answer..Use real orange juice as that gives the recipe it’s distinct orange flavour, also don;t forget to add in the zest, it makes all the difference 🙂 Good luck!

Leave a Reply

