Super Easy Lemon Butter Biscuits

Sweet Lemony bite sized biscuits. You can’t keep your hands off these.

lemon butter biscuits

Whenever I taste something nice, my first instinct is to try and make it (unlike normal people who would want to eat it again), so I have big ‘baking/cooking wishlist’. Normally all my recipes are out of that list but not this one! I never knew I could make lemon biscuits or that they even existed or that they would taste alright. I was craving for lemon cake but that would mean I wouldn’t have anything to share with you people (lemon cakes have been covered, see the recipe here) and since I’m already a little behind on my posting schedule I thought that would mean another day wasted! I thought of doing something cakey with lemons and make something half as tasty as my cake so I Googled lemon biscuits and Rachel Allen’s recipe popped up! They looked incredible and were so easy to make, I knew I had to try them! This recipe uses ONLY 4 ingredients and is damn easy, even a 10 year old can bake them with ease. 

lemon butter biscuits

 

If you’re a beginner or just love fuss free baking then these ones are for you. This recipe makes perfectly golden, almost zingy yet sweet buttery biscuits.They are perfect to be eaten with tea or without, and make the best munchies. And since they are bite sized, you can just chow down on these and not realize how many you’ve eaten.  I made 20 of these last night and now all I’ve got left are 2! I realize that this could be  a bit of problem for my weight loss resolution keepers but like someone has rightly said, if you’re going to make biscuits then make them right or don’t make them at all! 

Rachel Allen’s recipe was lovely but I did make a few changes to it. It doesn’t call for lemon juice and she added a little less sugar, but me being me (lover of lemons and sugar) couldn’t help but play with it. If you think that my recipe needs a little bit of something then go ahead and do it. Make it your own!

P.S. These lemon butter biscuits are not too cakey or too crisp, they’re right on the edge. If you’re looking for extra crispy biscuits, you can add 1 tbsp of semolina to the dough (in that case, minus 1 tbsp of flour from the recipe below).

Ingredients:

This recipe will make 20 small biscuits (3cm in diameter)

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Baking Time: 20 minutes

  • 100 gms Flour
  • 60 gms Softened Unsalted Butter*
  • 4 tbsp Powdered Sugar
  • 1 Lemon (zest of 1 lemon and 1 tbsp juice)

___________________________________

*You could use salted butter but that will make your biscuits a tad bit salty. If you like that saltiness, then go ahead! The butter has to be softened though.

**It is important to use powdered sugar or else you’ll get sugary pieces in each bite.

Process:

Preheat oven at 200 degree Celsius.

  1. In a large bowl, mix together butter, flour and lemon zest with hands. Use your finger tips to combine them and rub the butter through the flour. By the end of this step you should have a crumbly mixture.image
  2. Add in the sugar and lemon juice and incorporate the mixture to form a dough ball. Toss the dough onto a cling film or plastic wrap. image_3
  3. Fold the cling film over the dough ball so that that it is securely placed inside it. Now slowly roll out the dough to about 1/2 cm thickness and cut shapes.image_4
  4. Butter a baking tray and carefully place these biscuits on it. DO NOT place butter paper on the base, I did and I noticed that biscuits on the butter paper didn’t brown from the bottom and it wasn’t easy to take off the butter paper from my biscuits.image_5
  5. Bake these biscuits in your preheated oven at 180 degrees for 20 minutes or until the biscuits are golden on top. After you take them out you will notice that the biscuits are very soft, let them cool on a wire rack for about 15 minutes before consuming. I did eat one straight off the oven though :p Super soft!

image_8

These biscuits are perfectly crispy and perfectly sized. If you like tea parties, I’m sure these will be perfect when you plan on inviting too many guests over! This has definitely become *starred* recipe and I’m already thinking of ways to transform it into something out of the world!

Bonus Recipe: Vanilla Butter Biscuits

Just substitute the lemon zest and juice with Vanilla Essence and follow the recipe. You will have delicious buttery crispy vanilla biscuits. You can play with this dough and add a gazillion ingredients to transform it, I’ll leave all that to your imagination.

lemon butter biscuits

Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow! 🙂

I hope you like this recipe and try making these. These are by far the easiest biscuits I’ve ever made and I’m sure you’ll feel that too! Write back for any queries or comments!

Happy Baking!

Love,

Radhika xx

31 thoughts on “Super Easy Lemon Butter Biscuits

    • Thanks Haley! I didn’t have lemon biscuits either before this and I must say I’m hooked now! I finished the remaining two while writing the post and now I’m dying to go back to the kitchen and bake some more! And thank you for your wishes, working my way up the wishlist! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Toasted Marshmallow Cookies | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  2. Pingback: Super Easy All Butter Cookies | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  3. Pingback: Eggless Lemon Drizzle Cake | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  4. Pingback: Apple Ginger Lemonade |

  5. Pingback: Peanut Butter White Chocolate Chip Cookies |

  6. Pingback: Lemon Crepes with Tangy Lemon Glaze |

  7. looks great and super easy!
    just one doubt; shortbread or tarts are usually made with chilled butter, cut into the flour, to give a crumbly texture… in this recipe the butter is soft. Please explain or suggest which is better.

    • Hi, I make these using soft butter and works every time. Because the dough is really dry, soft butter helps bind everything. Make sure your butter isn’t melted though, you need room temperature butter to make these. I can’t comment about chilled butter because I’ve never used it. But as far as I know, it’ll make rolling out the dough really tough.

      • You don’t get much zest from Indian lemons so its more like a teaspoon or two. Plus there’s lemon juice too so 2 teaspoons should suffice.

      • I just finished baking these and they are awesome. I followed your recipe to the T. Only I let the dough sit in the fridge for 7 to 8 minutes. The first batch I cut with a cutter, the second one I just pressed with my thumb. To jazz it up a little I put some sprinkles. Wish I could share a pic.
        ALL IN ALL A WONDERFUL RECIPE AND GIVES A GREAT FEELING WHILE MAKING AND EATING.

      • Thank you Divya! I’m so glad you liked these 🙂 Great that you let the dough set for sometime, must’ve given sometime for the butter to chill. If you wish, you can share a picture and tag me on Instagram. Find me @sugarnspicebyradhika. I’d love to see how they turned out !

      • I just finished baking these and they are awesome. I followed your recipe to the T. Only I let the dough sit in the fridge for 7 to 8 minutes. The first batch I cut with a cutter, the second one I just pressed with my thumb. To jazz it up a little I put some sprinkles. Wish I could share a pic.
        ALL IN ALL A WONDERFUL RECIPE AND GIVES A GREAT FEELING WHILE MAKING AND EATING.
        Will keep coming back to this blog for sure!

  8. Pingback: Top 10 Recipes of 2014 |

Leave a Reply

