Toasted Marshmallow Cookies

These toasted marshmallow cookies are sinfully buttery, completely indulgent and have an amazing crunch to them!  

Quick confession: These cookies were an accident! And accidentally turned tasty! I had no intention of toasting the marshmallow and wanted them soft. Since this was my first time baking with marshmallows I had no clue of what to expect. But boy was I surprised by the end result!

Toasted marshmallow cookies

I baked my biscuit base for about 6-8 minutes and then added the marshmallows on top and baked for another 10-12 minutes. P.S. I truly blind baked this time, and by blind baking I don’t mean adding the term ‘blind baking pastries’ and stuff but actually blind bake. My oven’s display went off and all I could do was set a timer on my phone and pray that I set the correct time, which was so hard because I use a microwave+oven. The oven kept going off after small intervals and I had to reset it again! This was definitely the most challenging bake of my life. If you go through similar problems, remember to set a timer on your phone and bake them until the cookies turn golden. Trust your eyes!

My last post was lemon butter biscuits made using Rachel Allen’s recipe, I was so impressed by the end result that I couldn’t stop but look for ways to transform it and jazz it up! I used the same idea and came up with this recipe.

toasted marshmallow cookies

Ingredients:

Makes 20 cookies (3cm in diameter)

Prep Time: 8-10 minutes

Baking time: 15-20 minutes (Every oven is different, take them out as soon as they turn golden)

  • 100 gms Flour
  • 60 gms Softened Butter (or about 4 tbsps)
  • 3 tbsp Powdered Sugar
  • 2 tsps Vanilla Essence (I’m a sucker for bold flavors)
  • About 4-5 big Marshmallows (snipped into small pieces, about 1 cm)

Process:

Preheat oven at 180 degrees for 5-10 minutes

  1. Mix butter and flour with your fingertips. Rub the butter through the flour until a grainy mixture is formed.
  2. Add in the sugar and vanilla essence. Form into a dough.
  3. Toss the dough onto a cling film or plastic wrap. Take another piece of cling film and put it over the dough. Use a rolling pin to flatten the dough to about 1/2 cm thickness.
  4. Cut out shapes and arrange on a greased baking tray. Bake for 8 minutes at 160 degree Celsius, take out the cookies and put the marshmallows on top and lightly press.
  5. Bake for 10 minutes on 160 degree Celsius until the edges are golden brown and marshmallows start to look golden.
  6. Leave to cool on a wire rack for 10 minutes before consuming!

DONE! As easy as that!

The cookies will be unbelievably crunchy and buttery! No one, I mean NO ONE can dislike these!

toasted marshmallow cookies toasted marshmallow cookies

I hope you enjoy baking  these gorgeous golden cookies! Write back for any queries or comments!

Happy Baking,

Radhika xx

Enhanced by Zemanta
9 thoughts on “Toasted Marshmallow Cookies

  1. Pingback: Chocoberry Pie for Karan’s Birthday | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  2. Pingback: Peanut Butter White Chocolate Chip Cookies |

  3. Pingback: Half and Half Chocolate Chip Cookies |

Leave a Reply

