Super Easy All Butter Cookies

These all butter cookies are like HEAVEN~ filled with goodness.

all butter cookies

The aroma and the richness of flavor will make you go ga-ga over these. If you love plain cookies with, you must try these. Its super easy and the dough doesn’t even require chilling. The best part is that you only need 4 basic ingredients- flour, butter, sugar and vanilla essence, I’m sure they are sitting in your pantry right now. These cookies were so quick that you can make a fresh batch every other day. I swear by this recipe now and it really has become a *starred* in my recipe book, something that I’ll cherish forever. These cookies taste like pure decadence , Guilty Pleasure! I’m always thinking of ways to transform it, I’ve done three versions already and all of them turned out great.

Although I’m not a fan of commercially baked goodies, I do love all butter cookies and I’ve always wanted to reflect that crunchy butteryness in my cookies. This recipe does that, it replicates the taste of high end store bought all butter cookies perfectly.

Ingredients:

Makes about 20 cookies (3cm in diameter)

Prep Time: 6-8 minutes

Baking time: 15-20 minutes (Every oven is different, take them out as soon as they turn golden)

  • 100 gms Flour
  • 60 gms Softened Butter (about 4tbsps)
  • 4 tbsp Powdered Sugar
  • 2 tsp Vanilla Essence

all butter cookies

Process:

Preheat oven at 180 degrees for 5-10 minutes

  1. Mix butter and flour with your fingertips. Rub the butter through the flour until a grainy mixture is formed.
  2. Add in the sugar and vanilla essence. Form into a dough.
  3. Toss the dough onto a cling film or plastic wrap. Take another piece of cling film and put it over the dough. Use a rolling pin to flatten the dough to about 1/2 cm thickness.
  4. Cut out shapes and arrange on a greased baking tray. Bake for 15-20 minutes at 160 degree Celsius. Every oven is different, take them out as soon as they turn lightly golden.

Let the cookies rest for about 10-15 minutes before consuming or if you can’t handle the aroma, have one straight away! I always do! Sprinkle a little icing sugar on top to glam them up a bit if you like. 😉

I hope you try these and write back to me for any queries or feedback!

Happy Baking

Much Love,

Radhika xx

Enhanced by Zemanta
21 thoughts on “Super Easy All Butter Cookies

  1. Hey this seems like a great recipe, but i am wondering how the sugar get’s uniformly distributed in the dough, if we add the granulated version to it. I mean, how do we make sure that it’s uniformly dissolved?

    • Hi and Welcome to my blog! These cookies require granulated sugar because it mixes easily as opposed to normal sugar which won’t melt while baking and you would end up feeling the sugar crunch in your mouth every time you take a bite. Just mix everything very nicely and the sugar gets evenly dispersed. You don’t need to dissolve the sugar, simply mix it in the dough, it will melt while baking. This is the reason I’ve specifically mentioned the use of granulated sugar or caster sugar, because it melts faster and you wont feel the chunks in your mouth. 🙂
      I hope I’ve answered your question. Please write back if you have any more questions. I would be more than glad to answer them! 🙂

      • Hi! I just re-read what you wrote. I meant to write powdered sugar in my post not granulated sugar. My bad! I hope I’ve answered your question now! If you still have any question, please write back! Radhika xx

      • Thank you for responding to my query radhika! 🙂 Yea powdered sugar makes more sense. I’m definitely gonna try these! The recipe looks super easy. I love baking, but my baking adventures usually fall flat! especially cookies 😛 It never discourages my from trying again though 😀

      • Hi! I’m sure this one will be a success. I was scared of baking too.. Especially cakes but practice has made me more confidant.. I still screw up.,but I try the same thing from scratch again..and get it right. You shouldn’t give up on baking..Try this and many more recipes.. You’ll get the hang of it 🙂

  2. Pingback: Egg Less Scones | Sugar n Spice by Radhika

  3. Pingback: Shortbread Cookies | If You Give A Blonde A Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Peanut Butter White Chocolate Chip Cookies |

  5. heyy.. i am a home baker and have been searching for a good butter cookie and i think my search ends here:) i really like the way you describe the entire process from the scratch.
    i have a little confusion..have you used the normal Amul salted butter or any other specific type?

    • Hi Krushi,

      Thank you so much! That means a lot!
      Yes I’ve used amul butter for this recipe and it turns out great.. I’ve made it too many times and Sometimed when I’m short of butter I also substitute it with ghee. I know it sounds weird but you won’t even know the difference! Don’t use ghee entirely but substitute maybe a 1 tablespoon with it, hope it helps!
      Thanks for writing to me! 🙂

      • haha…it feels good to know that i am not the ony one who uses ghee…i have used ghee in some nankhatais….my mother suggests dalda ghee…she used to always use dlada ghee for all her indian cookies…..i am going to try these cookies today only.. 🙂 i hope these turn out great the way they look in these pictures…

  6. hey! so i tried these because i was like really really bored.. this was at 2am! and i was like completely zapped because they were ready in 1hr, so once they cooled down i woke my mom up 3:30 or something because whenever i tried making biscuits, i always fail! she tried it and god! she loved it! thanks a ton for this recipe and i love your blog! not even kidding, please please can post more eggless recipes! thanks again. nishita

    • So glad you liked these Nishita ! This is my go to cookie recipe mainly because it’s so easy to put together! Sure.. I’ll try and put more eggless recipes ! 🙂

  7. Pingback: White Chocolate and Cranberry Cookies |

  8. Hi, Radhika I like your recipes and tried quite a number of them. I’ve become a great fan of yours. I think I am your youngest follower. Thanks for your great recipes .

    • Thank you so much Icha! I’m so glad you love my recipes. It’s great to know you’re baking from my blog! Hope you’re having enjoying every bit of it. See you around! Keep in touch 🙂

Leave a Reply

