Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Oreo Frosting

Rich and moist chocolate cupcakes topped with the best Oreo frosting in the world. This is one recipe everyone must try!

Dark Chocolate Cupcake with Oreo Frosting

First chocolate cupcake recipe on this blog and I’m in love with it. Chocolates are something I dream about..like a million other people so it should come as no surprise that I absolutely LOVED these cupcakes. These dense dark chocolate cupcakes are great on their own.. but when you top them with my Oreo frosting it will be impossible to just have one of these..or two. I have no idea how many times I went to refrigerator to have something and ended up with a cupcake in my hand. They’re like magnets! No kidding 😛

My Oreo frosting will make anyone go weak in the knees.. this coming from a person who’s not a frosting fan. I’ve never loved buttercream frosting mainly because they tend to be over sweet but not in this case. My frosting is just enough sweet and is clearly the show stopper.

Dark Chocolate Cupcake with Oreo FrostingDark Chocolate Cupcake with Oreo Frosting

I know I don’t have the best piping skills..none at all..so please don’t judge me! :p I’m learning to pipe but I never get the nozzle right ! Why don’t you share you piping secrets if you have any..I’d love to know! Here’s the recipe for the cupcake and frosting, let me know when you make these! 🙂

RECIPE: Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Oreo Frosting

Makes: 12 cupcakes         Prep Time: 15 minutes       Baking Time: 20 minutes

INGREDIENTS

For the Dark Chocolate Cupcakes

  • All Purpose Flour (or maida), 1 1/2 cup or 200 grams approx.
  • Cocoa Powder, 1/2 cup
  • Baking Powder, 1 teaspoon
  • Salt, 1/4 teaspoon
  • Softened Butter, 1/2 cup or 100 grams
  • Sugar, 1 1/2 cups or 300 grams approx
  • Eggs, 1 egg + 1 yolk
  • Vanilla Essence, 2 teaspoon
  • Buttermilk, 1/2 cup or 120 ml
  • Strong Coffee, 1/2 cup (1 teaspoon of coffee in 120 ml of water)

For the Oreo Frosting

  • Whipping Cream, 2 tablespoon (I use Rich’s whipping cream)
  • Unsalted Butter, slightly softened, 1/2 cup or 100 grams.
  • Icing Sugar, 1 cup or 125 grams approx.
  • Vanilla Essence, 1 teaspoon
  • Oreos, 5-6 crushed

METHOD

For the cupcakes

Preheat oven at 180 degrees Celsius for 10 minutes while you grease your muffin pan and liners.

Sift together flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and salt. Keep aside.

In a separate bowl, whisk butter until light and fluffy (for about 3-4 minutes by hand or 2 minutes by mixer). Add in the sugar and whisk until properly combined about 2-3 minutes.

Add in the eggs and whisk again until everything comes together properly followed by vanilla essence.

Add the dry ingredients that you set aside in step 2 to this mixture little by little alternating with buttermilk and coffee. Mix until everything is combined and you have a smooth batter. DO NOT OVERMIX or your cupcakes will be tough.

Pour the batter into the muffin liner until 2/3rd full. Bake at 180 degrees Celsius for 17-20 minutes (depends on the depth of your cupcake). Keep checking for doneness 15 minutes into baking by inserting a skewer in the centre. If it comes out clean with a few crumbs your cupcakes are done, if not bake for a few more minutes and check again.

Let the cupcakes cool completely before frosting.

For the Oreo frosting

Whisk whipping cream and butter until it forms stiff peaks. This should take around 3-4 minutes or more depending upon the temperature of your ingredients. Make sure they’re cold, or you’ll have a hard time making the frosting set. I used a hand mixer to whisk which made it a whole lot easier to achieve the stiff peaks.

Add the icing sugar and vanilla essence. Whisk until everything is combined and you have a stiff icing. Fold in the crushed oreos (DO NOT MIX VIGOROUSLY; softly fold them) and chill for at least half hour.

Pipe the frosting onto the cooled cupcakes. To decorate, cut an Oreo into two pieces with a sharp knife and put it on top of the frosting.

The cupcake recipe is from Gimme Some Oven. The Oreo frosting recipe is an original by Sugar & Spice by Radhika.

 

Write to me for any queries!

You can connect with me on PinterestInstagramFacebook and Google Plus for regular updates.

Take pictures of the food you create using a Sugar & Spice by Radhika recipe and Hashtag them on Instagram and Facebook. Use #sugarnspicebyradhika. I love to connect with my readers. 

#sugarnspicebyradhika

Are you crazy for chocolate like me? Then you’re going to love these recipes..

Half and Half Chocolate Chip Cookies

Half and Half Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies (eggless)

Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies (eggless)

Homemade Chocolate Chip Ice cream (LOW FAT)

Homemade Chocolate Chips Icecream

 

21 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Cupcakes with Oreo Frosting

    • Hi Shefali. I use a substitute which works exactly as buttermilk.
      So for example you want 1 cup buttermilk, take 1 cup milk and heat it. When it starts to boil add 1 tbsp of lemon juice to it. When the milk starts to curdle take it off heat and sieve out the curdled part (that’s the paneer btw) and use the leftover water as buttermilk in any recipe that asks for it. Hope that helps! Thanks for visiting and get in touch with me if you have any more questions. 🙂 I’d love to help out.

    • Thank you soo much! 🙂 they taste better than they look.. I wish I could make them look prettier but my piping skills are of a 5 year old :/ Learning each day!

  1. The cupcakes are gorgeous, I just unfollowed and followed again because I have not been getting your posts, You are the 4 person in a week that I have had to do that with. Something is very wrong at wordpress.
    Back to the cupcakes, I LOVE oreo’s and that oreo icing is amazing!!

Leave a Reply

