The Best-Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Moist, fluffy, subtly sweet..this Chocolate Chip Banana Bread has many fans! This banana+chocolate combination is sinfully delicious..try this recipe to taste a piece of heaven!

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

If you’re ever lost on my blog or are totally confused about what to start with then I have something for you today! “The Best- Chocolate Chip Banana Bread”. This sinfully delicious banana bread is the best I’ve ever had..and you will too.

Banana breads are man’s finest creation, not mobiles not cars not anything else but banana breads (and pizzas :p). Not because they’re easy as hell not even because you barely need anything to make it but because its are a perfect example of how you can use rotting, useless bananas and transform them into this marvelous piece of cake (or bread, whatever you like to call it). Despite their name, Banana breads actually don’t taste like breads at all. They’re more like sweet, moist cakes that are amazingly fluffy. Why they’re called breads is beyond my understanding, probably because they’re ideally made in a loaf tin giving it that “bread” look.. but who cares what they’re called as long as you can get a piece with some hot coffee. 🙂

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

I made this banana bread for my sister to take home with her (she’s married) along with my Braided Nutella Bread (which you must try) and it got rave reviews. Its safe to say that my experiment was a huge success and my banana bread has some crazy fans now! The best part about a banana bread is that its not restrictive like some recipes, you don’t have to look at the calendar to see if that fruit is available this time of the year. You can have your banana bread in winters, summers, during an apocalypse, basically whenever you like. Its also a great opportunity to use up rotting bananas instead of throwing them away because you also don’t need fresh bananas for it. Blacker the better. Overripe bananas are actually the secret to a moist banana bread, I went looking for bananas that had black spots on them, the banana vendor actually thought I was crazy when I asked him for black bananas, I could read the expression on his face.. It had “whaaaatttt?!” written all over it. I’d suggest you to wait patiently for a few days until your bananas are all over ripe and mushy rather than going looking for black bananas. :p

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

The recipe is really easy and like I said if you’re ever confused about what to make from my blog then start with this. I’ve used fairly basic ingredients in it.. you’ll need flour, sugar, butter, eggs and mashed bananas to make this and an hour from prepping to baking. You can make this even if you’re a beginner so let’s get started and make the The Best Chocolate Chip Banana Bread, shall we?

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

RECIPE: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

INGREDIENTS

  • Flour, 2 cups
  • Baking Powder, 1 teaspoon
  • Salt, 1 teaspoon
  • Softened Butter, 1/3 cup
  • White Granulated Sugar, 1/2 cup
  • Eggs, 2 (at room temp.)
  • Overripe Bananas, 3, mashed into a paste
  • Buttermilk, 2 tablespoons (you can substitute it with yogurt)
  • Vanilla essence, 1 teaspoon
  • Chocolate Chips, 3/4 cup (plus extra to sprinkle on top)

 METHOD

In a bowl, sift flour, salt and baking powder and keep aside.

In a separate bowl whisk together butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 2-3 minutes. Add in the eggs and whisk gently for a minute. Please make sure the eggs are at room temperature. Cold eggs won’t mix properly. Add in the mashed bananas, buttermilk and vanilla essence.

Now add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients little by little until everything is properly mixed and a thick batter is formed. Do not over mix the batter or your bread will turn tough and rubbery. Fold in the chocolate chips until evenly distributed.

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius for 5 minutes.

Transfer to greased loaf tin (9×5 inches) and bake for 45-50 minutes at 180 degrees Celsius or until a skewer comes out clean. I normally take out the banana bread and cover it loosely with foil paper after 20 minutes and then continue baking to avoid heavy browning on top. For best results keep checking your bread every 5 minutes by inserting a skewer after 40 minutes. Stop baking once the skewer comes out clean with a little chocolate and crumbs.

Transfer bread and cut into pieces once it has cooled down a bit. Serve for breakfast or with evening tea! I gobble it up as a late night snack too.. its perfect everytime.

Write to me for any queries!

You can connect with me on PinterestInstagramFacebook and Google Plus for regular updates.

Are you Banana fan? Then you must check out my Nutella and Banana Crepes made from scratch at home..

Nutella and Banana Crepes

Nutella and Banana Crepes

Want some chocolate chip recipes?!

White Chocolate Chip and Sprinkle Blondies

White Chocolate Sprinkle Blondies

Low Fat Chocolate Chips Ice Cream (only 89 cals!)

Homemade Chocolate Chips Icecream

Ultimate Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ultimate Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

Egg Less Strawberry and Chocolate Chip Muffins

strawberry and chocolate chip muffins

Festive Chocolate Chip Cookies

Festive Chocolate Chip Cookies

Enhanced by Zemanta

33 thoughts on “The Best-Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. Oh it does look so good! I’m always up for trying a new banana bread recipe. I have my favorites but banana bread it one thing that I just keep trying new ones for fun. In 2012 I think I made something like 27 recipes!! Seriously, I’m that whack. 😀 I’m pinning this one and will get some bananas so they can start to blacken up. I usually wait two weeks from the time I buy them unless I’m lucky enough to score some on discount b/c they’re getting spots. Little do the supermarkets know that I actually prefer them with spots because it means I can get to baking sooner! 😀

    • Hi Veronica! So nice to hear from you., this comment is by far the most elaborate one I’ve ever received.. You must really like banana bread! Honestly I never made banana bread until recently and I’ve become a fan!! 27 recipes did you say 😮 I’d love to know all the flavours you tried. I could use some inspiration for my next loaf 🙂
      And I totally get you, supermarkets should have a rotten bananas section dedicated to banana breads..that would help! 😀 I had to make this loaf urgently for my sister so I actually went looking for black bananas.. i sure did get some weird looks but I was lucky enough to find some! 2 weeks sounds longgg,. I love bananas so much that I’d probably have to hide some because they rarely last in my home! 🙂
      And thanks a ton for pinning Veronica! 🙂 Very sweet of you take out time to comment ! Have a good day !

  2. my standard banana bread is w/oil but for good taste, there is no substitute for delicious butter is there? And yeah, more love, more chocochips. yumstuff radhika!

  3. Banana bread! I love this stuff. I thought I had the best recipe, but your looks really amazing. I have tried a few different kinds, and now I want to try this one also. 🙂 I love how well it rose! Adding the chocolate chips makes it perfect!! I am sure that my family will be your next craziest fans…watch out there are twelve of us!

    Hugs!
    -Kloé ♥

    • Awww Kloe! That’s like the best comment ever ! Please do try it..My family loves this one.. I’m sure yours will too. Please let me know if they liked it.. I’ll watch out for some fan emails just in case 😉
      Hugs !
      Radhika 🙂

  4. Banana breads remind me of my aunt’s chiffon cake except with bananas! I like to eat mine with hot green tea! 🙂

    • Hi Carrie!! Smaller chunks should work just fine.. I say add whatever you like, that’s what I love about banana breads, anything goes with it! 🙂 let me know how it turned out! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread |

  6. Pingback: Homemade Oreos (eggless) |

  7. Pingback: Homemade Soft Pretzels |

  8. Pingback: Mother’s day Breakfast Ideas |

  9. Pingback: Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies (Eggless) |

  10. Pingback: Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies (Eggless) |

  11. Pingback: Homemade Soft Pretzels |

    • Hi Diksha, I’ve only tried making this with eggs, so I can’t be 100% sure. But yogurt is normally used to substitute eggs. Why don’t you use about 1 cup yogurt (240ml) instead of the eggs. It shouldn’t go wrong. If you can wait for a few days, I’ll upload an eggless recipe soon because I’m getting a lot of queries regarding the egg substitutes.
      Btw How did the brownies turn out?

      • I got to make it day after. I’ll go ahead with one cup yogurt then. 🙂
        And the brownies were out of the world! I have already got so many orders for this week. Shall be making them soon again. 😀
        And i uploaded a picture on instagram too. 🙂

  12. Pingback: Chocolate Swirl Banana Muffins |

  13. Pingback: Sugar Free Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins |

  14. Pingback: Chocolate and Banana Muffins; and A Few Updates From My Life |

  15. Pingback: Nutella Swirl Banana Bread |

  16. Pingback: Double Chocolate and Walnut Banana Bread |

Leave a comment