Lemon Loaf Cake

Hello readers,

Quick flashback~ I lived in London for a year or so and that’s where I was acquainted to lemon cakes. I would almost all the time buy McVities Lemon cake when I went grocery shopping (that cake is gorgeous). But after coming back to my motherland India, I could no longer enjoy my favorite cake so I decided to bake it! To my horror, that lemon cake turned out to be a disaster! My cakes may not turn out perfect all the time but they always taste great but this particular cake in question shook my confidence in baking, cooking and everything I thought I knew!

Luckily, I’ve got the skin of a Rhino and I never give up! I kept looking for better recipes and ways to avoid another disaster and I can proudly say I found the recipe I was looking for! Super moist lemon loaf cake! I found this recipe on Nigella Lawson‘s Community recipe page. Thank you ‘Anonymous’ for this wonderful recipe!

sugar n spice by radhika

 

Ingredients:

22 cm loaf tin

250 gms flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

150 gms light brown sugar

125 gms butter (room temp)

2 large eggs

1 tbsp lemon juice

Rind of 1 lemon

150 ml milk

1 tsp vanilla essence

sugar n spice by radhika

 

Ingredients:

22 cm loaf tin

250 gms flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

150 gms light brown sugar

125 gms butter (room temp)

2 large eggs

1 tbsp lemon juice

Rind of 1 lemon

150 ml milk

1 tsp vanilla essence

Process:

Preheat oven at 180 degrees. Butter your tin and line with parchment/butter paper.

Step 1: Sieve flour and baking powder and mix it properly.

Step 2: Whisk together butter and sugar until pale yellow. In a separate jar, whisk together milk and eggs.

Step 3: Add the flour mix little by little to the butter+sugar mix. Simultaneously, keep adding the milk+eggs milk little by little too, so that that it forms a batter. By the end of this process, your flour mix, milk+eggs mix and butter+sugar mix should have formed a smooth batter.

Step 3: Add in the lemon juice, lemon rind and vanilla essence to the mixture to the batter. Make sure its not too liquidey. I’ve noticed thicker batters yield denser cakes.

Step 4: Bake at 160 degrees for 35 minutes or until just golden on the top. Insert a skewer and if it comes out clean then your cake is ready!

sugar n spice by radhika

Enjoy this super moist cake with Tea!

sugar n spice by radhika

 

Happy Baking!

Love,

Radhika xx

8 thoughts on “Lemon Loaf Cake

  1. Pingback: Super Moist Orange Cake | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  2. Pingback: Chocolate and Orange Marble Cake | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  3. Pingback: 6 Minute Eggless Vanilla Sponge Cake | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  4. Pingback: Super Easy Lemon Butter Biscuits | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  5. Pingback: Eggless Lemon Drizzle Cake | Sugar 'n' Spice by Radhika

  6. Pingback: Apple Ginger Lemonade |

  7. Pingback: Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies (Eggless) |

  8. Pingback: Lemon Crepes with Tangy Lemon Glaze |

Leave a Reply

